Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

User Roles in Toggl 2.0

This guide outlines the six access roles in Toggl 2.0 — Organization Admin, Tool Admin, Manager, Member, Time Tracker, and Guest — and details what each role can do across tasks, time entries, projects, clients, tags, and reports.

In Toggl 2.0, there are six access roles: Organization Admin, Tool Admin, Manager, Member, Time Tracker, and Guest.

  • Organization Admin & Organization Owner — Access to everything, can invite workspace users and define user roles.
  • Tool Admin — Full access to Toggl 2.0 with admin capabilities. Cannot invite new users or manage integrations.
  • Manager — Can create, edit and delete tasks, time blocks and entries, and projects. They can view workspace users.
  • Member — Can create, edit and delete tasks, time blocks and time entries. They can view projects.
  • Time Tracker — Can create, edit and delete time entries and time blocks. They can view tasks and projects, but can't create, edit, or delete tasks.
  • Guest — Can edit their own tasks in projects they're invited to. They can view general project info on projects they're invited to and add notes.

Organization Admins can invite new team members and change existing user roles from the Members page.

Permission Organization Admin Tool Admin Manager

Member

Time Tracker

Guest

ORGANIZATION-LEVEL            
View capacities
View all users’ reports
Manage working hours
View all users’ time off
WORKSPACE & USERS            
Invite users to a workspace
Change existing users' permissions
View assigned organizations and workspaces
View workspace activity, settings and users
View user groups
Manage user groups
Remove workspace users
Define access to clients, tags and statuses
TASKS            
View tasks          
Manage tasks
View assigned tasks
 Manage assigned tasks          
TIME ENTRIES & TIME BLOCKS            
View and manage time entries  
Manage assigned time entries  
Manage time entries and time blocks on assigned projects  
Manage assigned time blocks  
PROJECTS & MILESTONES            
View public projects  
Manage projects  
View projects they're assigned to  
View and manage private projects they're not a member of  
Set a project as recurring  
Mark a project as complete  
Edit a project template  
View milestones  
Manage milestones  
CLIENTS            
View, create, rename, archive, or delete clients  
TAGS & STATUSES            
View workspace tags  
 Manage workspace tags
Manage tags in projects or tasks  
View tags in projects or tasks  
Create, update, or delete tags and statuses  
CUSTOM FIELDS            
Create and manage custom fields for the workspace  
REPORTS            
View reports with everyone's data

 

View their own data in reports, excluding financial information

 

RATES      

 

 

 

Create and edit workspace rates

 

Create and edit project and member rates

 

View workspace rates

 

View project and member rates

 

Change billable status

 

View billable status

 

WORK HOURS      

 

 

 

Edit own work hours

 

View and edit others' work hours

 

 


How do roles in Toggl 2.0 compare to the ones in Toggl Plan?

Toggl Plan Toggl 2.0
Owner - Access to everything, can edit billing information Organization Admin & Organization Owner - Access to everything, can invite workspace users and define user roles.
  Tool Admin - Access to everything, cannot invite new users.
Admin - Access to everything Manager - Can create, edit and delete tasks, time blocks and entries, and projects. They can view workspace users.
Member - Has access to all Teams and Projects in the workspace. By default, a Member can edit all Tasks, Teams and Projects Member - Can create, edit and delete tasks, time blocks and time entries. They can view projects.
Guest - Has access only to the Teams and Projects listed on their user profile. By default, a Guest can edit all Tasks, Teams and Projects they have access to. However, you can limit the Guest to only being able to edit tasks assigned to them. Guest - Can view only the Projects they're invited to. Guests can edit their own tasks and add notes to tasks in projects they're assigned to.